Therapy Can Help When Depression Drugs Don’t: When Commonsense Prevails

image
I almost fell out of my chair yesterday when I read the headline “When Depression Drugs Don’t Help, Talking Might”. As you could imagine by the headline a “study” was conducted in the United Kingdom that suggests talk therapy may be a helpful supplemental treatment for people with depression who have not responded to medication. They needed a freaking study to determine people need more than just drugs to kick to depression. This means people were actually paid money to say talk therapy is more effective than just shoving drugs down your throat and hoping for a miracle.
We live in a country of instant gratification and it should not come as a surprise that the most prescribed drugs are anti-depressants; the quick fix for people feeling down.
Do anti-depressants help people suffering from severe depression? Yes. Do anti-depressants help people who are just unhappy with their life? No.
These drugs have not have not been around long enough to know what the side effects can be when taken long term.
The psychiatric business has moved away from talk therapy and currently only treat the symptoms of depression on not the origins of depression.
I went to my first therapy session when I was 10 years old with the hopes that I would be able to discuss my feelings instead of just bottling them up like so many of us do.
After only a few sessions it became clear that talking was a great way for me to get rid of that pit in my stomach that I had been living with for years. I was able to disucss every day stuff with my doctor with no fears of him telling my parents.
During that first year of therapy my favorite uncle was diagnoised with AIDS and literally died within the first year of diagnosis.
Therapy was a safe place for me to share my feelings about life and death and saved me from being an introvert.
Ironically, I still see the same therapist I had when I was ten years old and it still provides that release I felt when I started.
It is not that far fetched to see if the psychiatrists around the world don’t stop heading down this path of treating symptoms they will completely abandon any hope of learning the origins of depression and will end up causing more heartache for the people that really suffer.
General Doctors need to stop prescribing anti-depressants because they have no training in how to determine who should be on these drugs and who shouldn’t.
It will be up to the doctors around the world to suggest therapy over medication and emphasize to the patient that therapy is the best way to get to the root of the problem.
Anti-depressants aren’t the be all end all for treatment of depression and it is up to the patient to realize they may need more than just drugs to help them.

– William L Huffman

Leave a Reply

