My Top 10 Films of 2012

image
It took until the last day of 2012 for me to pick my top film of the year but it was so worth the wait. Rarely can a movie live up to the hype that surrounds it, The Dark Knight Rises fell victim to the hype machine, while Django Unchained exceeded all of the hype.
Quentin Tarantio’s slave revenge film starring Jamie Foxx and Christoph Waltz is every bit as shocking and entertaining as being reported.
Django is Tarantino’s most complete film and despite its nearly three hour length it never wanes. I actually went in concerned about the length of the movie but was utterly floored by how fast the film went.
Christoph Waltz is absolutely amazing as a German bounty hunter who frees Django, Jamie Foxx, to help him track down three fugitives. Foxx is brilliant as Django and he brings real depth to the character.
Waltz has a very calming presence which is quite distant from the sociopathic character he played in Tarantino’s last film, Inglorious Basterds. I actually now think he should win the Oscar for best actor over my previous leading candidate Richard Gere, for his phenomenal performance in Arbitrage.
But as with the Oscars it will probably be Daniel Day Lewis for Lincoln, a film I am yet to see.
Django may bring Oscar gold to Tarantino if the voters don’t get too offended by the violence but that may be too much to hope for with Spielberg and O’Russell out there still.
This wasn’t the best year at the movies but I really enjoyed Ben Affleck’s film Argo, as well as Wes Anderson’s masterpiece Moonrise Kingdom, 21 Jump Street was a riot but the only film on my Top 10 list that really left a significant impression on me is Django Unchained.
Despite their underdog status I will be pulling for Django when the awards are announced because it is by far the most entertaining film of 2012, at least in my opinion.

Here is my Top 10 Films of 2012

  1. Django Unchainedimage
  2. Moonrise Kingdomimage
  3. 21 Jump Streetimage
  4. Argoimage
  5. Arbitrageimage
  6. The Dark Knight Risesimage
  7. Silver Linings Playbookimage
  8. Safety Not Guaranteedimage
  9. Goonimage
  10. Skyfallimage

Honorable Mention: Bernie, Jeff Who Lives At Home, Wanderlust, Ted, End of Watch
– William L Huffman

One response to “My Top 10 Films of 2012

  1. I definitely agree with everything you said about Django. But now I also feel bad that I haven’t saw any of the other movies, so I have to step my game up!

Leave a Reply

